Be the change

With Indian Independence Day round the corner, I would like to illustrate Mahatma Gandhi’s famous quote: “Be the change you want to see in the world” with a simple example


In a village, there lived an old man who was looking back into his life. He sat in a tea shop with his friends, telling them his story:

“When I was young I was arrogant, I felt that I could do it all and wanted to change the world and so I prayed to the almighty to give me strength to change everyone. When I reached middle age I woke up one morning and I realized that my life was half over and then I prayed to god to give me strength to change the ones around me as they needed it.
But now I am old and my prayer is very simple, ‘Lord, please give me strength to change myself’ “

Moral: If you try to change others without changing your own attitudes, it will not have any effect. Change yourself; the world around you will change

~ by priyaneelam on August 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
